In the area

453 photographs, desert dust on the bottom of my shoes and Jordan River water smuggled in my luggage were some tangible things I returned from my pilgrimage to God’s Country with. My mind however is full of real time locations that our Lord walked and worshiped our Great God. So many sights and wonders to behold among the droves of people bustling about. I wondered how I would comprehend all that I was experiencing. Like Mary, mother of Jesus, I began to treasure all these things in my heart.

Exact locations of actual events pertaining to Our Lord, Jesus Christ are impossible to predict but as our wonderful guide stated almost every day “We are in the area.” The area indeed! Thousands of years of wind, rain and weather have blown the terrain from place to place making it difficult to discern locations but new excavations are unearthing some wonderful realities related to Jesus. Many churches have been built over locations that have been decided upon by scholars and theologians as an approximate spot for various events.

Even though the city of Bethlehem and Jerusalem have changed, God has not! He still loves that land and the people. He is still in the business of offering salvation to those who will accept it by faith through Jesus. He is still going to return one day to that very spot! Every knee will bow and every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord!!

It was my impression along with many others that God doesn’t really want us to know the exact location of these precious moments of Jesus life for fear we might become idolatrous towards them. It was enough to know we were in the area.

Categories: devotional | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “In the area

  1. Well said.

  2. agnes

    I agree! Glad you are back in our area again; after all it’s God’s too!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

